Day 51

Standard

No update on the shawl today. I spent the today’s knitting on bunting to use as decoration at the cafe for Worldwide Knit in Public Day this week. I had a pattern but I wanted something faster so I designed something smaller. I got 6 knitted today before I got bored.

bunting

I’ve been catching up with ‘Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.’ today while I knitted. It has confirmed Coulson’s Epicness and the beauty of Clark Gregg’s acting but the suspense of the mystery of his non-death may yet, ironically, kill me…. Of course, it would have been easier to follow the storyline if my dogs didn’t insist on barking at every shadow that passes the window.

One of the recurring themes in the show is Norse mythology (Thor is part of the Marvel Universe and the Coulson character was in the first of the Thor movies and in the Avengers movie with Thor). While the Valkyrie have not been mentioned, they are Norse in origin. They are the maidens who collect the souls of the honourable dead from the battlefield and take them to Valhalla where they will spend their time fighting and drinking. Yes, today’s music is ‘Ride of the Valkyries’ by Richard Wagner (who was, by many accounts a fairly deplorable human being but knew how to put a tune together….)

Day 51Only one more piece after today to finish this square. Very exciting! I’ll pin it out and photograph the finished (thus far) blanket for tomorrow’s photo.

 

Leave a Reply

