Day 66

Standard

Fourteen years ago today I married my best friend and soulmate, and yes, today’s music choice is dedicated to my husband (again). It was tricky to choose a song but I fell back on ‘The Sound of Music’ for the perfect solution of movie and music star (Julie Andrews is incredible!). Did you know that this scene was filmed in shadow because both Julie Andrews and Christopher Plummer had the giggles while filming?

selfie 30June2014Today is also the day I debut my new hair. I was going to wait until tomorrow to put the  turquoise over the section we bleached yesterday but I am an impatient sort. It looks pretty awesome regardless and I kinda love how it turned out.

The colour is actually more turquoise than green. I did warn you all at the beginning about my awful photo skills.

To get that look, I divided my hair into 2 roughly equal halves diagonally along the top  of my head from hairline to the back of the crown then straight down to my neck. We applied the bleach to the part that had less on show, then applied the dark colour and washed them out at the same time. I used a really cheap shampoo before and after the dye/bleach. I left my hair to rest for about 18 hours before I applied the Manic Panic ‘Atomic Turquoise’ to the bleached section and left it to develop for about 3 hours. I didn’t use any shampoo when i washed it out but i did use a coloured hair friendly conditioner. my hair is soft and shiny and pretty 😉

It’s a bit of a paradox that when I dye my hair, it’s much softer and better conditioned than when I don’t.

I used my favourite colourway today fro the large square – Opal’s ‘Sweet and Spicy Plum’.

day 66

 

Leave a Reply

