Day 79

Standard

Pretty sure I should apologise for today’s music again except I’m not sorry :p

There is something of a cinema institution in the UK that started when movies were still in black and white. It’s a series called ‘St. Trinians’ and is about an anarchic Catholic Girls School that houses the ultimate in ‘naughty school girls’. Recently the franchise got a modern makeover with stars like Gemma Aterton, Talulah Riley, Rupert Everett (as both a man and a woman….) and Colin Firth (and a dog named Mr Darcy which is understandably hilarious). Oh! And Paloma Faith as a goth chick which was a surprise. It’s ridiculous and terrible and that sort of awful that is both fun and brilliant.

There’s another British institution – the Brit Pop pop group. Equally awful and ridiculous and addictive, so it’s no surprise that one of the biggest groups of recent years sang the theme song for St Trinians. It’s catchy and I’ve been singing the chorus all afternoon, much to my husband’s dismay (he *hates* factory pop music, which, if I’m honest, is half the appeal for me. I am of the Rita Rudner school of marriage – “it’s so nice to find that one person you want to annoy for the rest of your life”. He knew this when he married me. Silly man.).

Bet it gets stuck in your head too 🙂

I was looking at the blanket this evening trying to decide which yarn to use for the square and noticed that this section of the blanket is looking…. more muted than the rest of it so I’ve put in the bright ‘Brasil’ stripes by Regia. Which, now I think about it, is appropriate given that the World Cup finished today. (Congratulations Germany).

day 79

Leave a Reply

