Day 95

Standard

An example of the energy and affection for the production by both the cast and the audience is today’s Gilbert & Sullivan/EssGee Productions clip. In ‘Pirates of Penzance’, Frederick was apprenticed, by accident, to Pirates until his 21st birthday. Being that he was born in a leap year, it gets complicated when he tries to leave the Pirate company. He finds a girl, her father tells a lie, the Pirates find out so they determine to take revenge. In this song, ‘With Cat-like Tread’, they sing about exchanging Piracy for burglary… then the conductor and the audience make them do  it again, and again.

By the way, his very important dialogue is ‘Away!’ 😉

day 95

 

 

Had to decide whether to continue using very bold colours in this section of the blanket. I chose the apple green instead of the dark teal I was contemplating, worried that it would be too bright compared with the rest of the blanket so far. That’s not to say that I won’t put the teal above the red and purple later on….

 

 

garden - spinning 1I’m having a lot of trouble concentrating again this week. I think I’ve managed to knit 2 rounds of mum’s tablecloth (which I had expected would be in the post by now), but I have managed to keep up with the blanket, and have done a little hand spinning each day. I’ve continued to work on the peach/green fibre I bought at Fibre-East on Saturday. I’m using the hand spindle I made with the chopstick and the plug because I am spinning yarn of a similar thickness to sewing thread and that is the lightest weight spindle I have. Being that I want it to stay lightweight, I periodically move the yarn onto a larger spindle to hold until I’m ready to ply it. When I am finished, I will chain-ply it which will triple it’s thickness and improve the evenness and strength of the finished yarn.

I will try to remember to explain chain-plying (also called ‘Navajo-plying’) when I get to it.

Leave a Reply

