Day 99

Standard

Well now, will you look at that! One more sleep at I’ve been doing this for 100 days which is very nearly 1/3rd of the way to my goal. Very awesome.

Tomorrow will be a party tune I think. Today is a song that has been whispering in the back of my mind for some time now. In my mid-teens, I did a lot of singing at school and church and the occasional paying gig. It was not a career I was ever particularly interested in pursuing but I enjoyed sharing my love of music with others  and occasionally introducing them to something new. At that time, there was an album released to celebrate the 80th birthday of a harmonica player called Larry Adler. He had been friends with George and Ira Gershwin, and his birthday recordings were all Gershwin tunes. The one that I heard first was new to me – ‘Stairway to Paradise’ and was sung by Issy Van Randwyk and was a style that I quickly came to love. That’s not today’s song though. Today I’m going to share Gershwin’s ‘Summertime’ as played by Larry Adler and famed violinist Itzhak Perlman.

A harmonica duetting with a violin is not a pairing that immediately springs to mind but it is beautiful and suits the tune so very well. The haze of the heat and the lethargy that accompany it hold true in the hands of these masters.

The trapezoid for today had to be joined in a similar way to yesterdays but because it is the opposite way around with the angle on the right, the decreases and pick up are done at the beginning of each odd numbered row eg

pick up 1st from day 81’s large triangle and knit together with 1st stitch on needle, (slip 1, knit 1, psso) then continue with pattern.

Not too difficult I think. I’m also not sure the join is as pretty as yesterday’s but I did try a few options and this was the nicest.

day 99

The blanket is big enough now that it’s hard finding somewhere to lay it out that I can also pin it and then take a photo. My bedroom is too dark. My son has bunk beds. I’ll work it out tomorrow though because I want to post a picture of the whole thing so far.

Leave a Reply

