Day 112

Standard

My husband is awesome. 

We knew roughly where to look for my shawl but it was decided that I was unlikely to respond well if I went to look and didn’t find it so he went into town to see if it could be found. To everyone’s delight and relief, it had been picked up and put on a fence railing. He took it with him to work then brought it home with him and it’s none the worse for wear. So relieved.

I suppose it’s silly to be attached to something like this but I guess we all do it whether it’s with a teddy bear or a photo or the way something is organised. This shawl gets a lot of compliments and is something that gives me great pleasure because it is lightweight, warm, and bright and because it is something I laboured to create.6ply-shawl It’s also the largest shawl I own and have often eschewed sweaters and cardigans in favour of it.

Anyway, it’s home now.

It did create an unusual situation for me. As you know, I was trying to decide if I wanted to make a shawl similar to it and what yarn I would use. Sometime ago I bought 3 balls of a 6ply sock yarn with the intent of designing a shawl to showcase it. Today, I was unable to work on anything because I was feeling a physical compulsion to knit this yarn into a shawl like the formally lost one. I  cleaned, I sorted my knitting bag, I prepared dinner and could not shake the feeling that I needed to cast on this shawl. I have so many projects already in the works that I really struggled against the idea of starting yet another project but couldn’t settle into anything until late this afternoon when I finally gave in and started knitting.

Isn’t it pretty?

I added two rectangle to the blanket again today to make up for yesterday’s missed piece…

day 111-112

I’ve not seen the movie ‘Pitch Perfect’  but somewhere on my social media feeds I was directed to this song by Anna Kendrick and I really liked it. Now I’m paying it forward 😉

Leave a Reply

