Day 119

Standard

And we’re all caught up. Blanket pieces for day’s 117 (turquoise), 118 (blue) and 119 (striped) have finally been done.

day 117-118-119

Oh, and you might notice that the numbering of posts has been editted – I had two day 116’s…

I’m hoping that the old cleaning rule about things looking worse before you finish holds true. I started sorting through my ‘craft corner’ in our living room today… Despite moving a bunch of stuff back into the loft, the corner looks worse! On the upside, I had a couple of friends giving me a hand/keeping me company and they discovered a whole bunch of my crocheted dolls, some unfinished bobbin lace and several unfinished knit shawls and spent the better part of an hour extolling my crafting excellence. Which was nice but a bit weird. Being complimented on my crafting is like being complimented for breathing. I know that crafts are something not everyone is good at, but then I’m not good at sports, or self-discipline so it evens out.

They took a crocheted kokeshi doll each and gave me ideas for a turtle and a lion, and I was asked for a boy tooth fairy with a bag for teeth after seeing one of my girl tooth fairy dolls. Just need to get the yarn out of the loft so I can start crocheting. I haven’t made a doll in a year or more and I’m excited to do something so different to all the other things I’ve been working on lately (shawls and sweaters and utter disinterest).

Feeling a little bittersweet and nostalgic this evening so here is the Hunters & Collectors from way back when I still lived in Australia, with ‘Throw Your Arms Around Me’.

Hunters & Collectors – Throw Your Arms Around Me (studio version)

Leave a Reply

