All The Things!!! or I am a Collector of Crafts.

Standard

I obsess. It is something I do unwillingly. I obsess over my family. I obsess over my thoughts. I obsess over actors and movies. I obsess over crafts. I think even my anxiety could be deemed obsessing in some ways.

It happens when I am mentally well. Sometimes it causes the lows. Sometimes I can exert some sensibility over my behaviour and thoughts. Other times I have to ride it out.

For example, I will watch a movie I like until I never even what to look at some of the actors again (or friends and family want to choke me with the dvd). After the 3 months in hospital last year, I obsess over what certain pain means. When I take up a new craft I must have ALL THE THINGS!!!!!

You saw the spinning fibre, the pencils, the colouring books. You haven’t seen the yarn stash yet. When it comes to crafts, I am a collector.

Though I didn’t need the additions, I got three new colouring books this week and they’re lovely but I am trying to finish some incomplete pages before I start on anything new but I have collected a lot of downloaded pages and will be printing them out soon so really, it’s moot.

The thing is, I do eventually get through these obsessions. The heat of obsession will cool off and the new crafting collection will slot itself into the ever expanding rotation – beading, cross-stitch, knitting, crochet, loom bands, colouring, bobbin lace, spinning, sewing, etc. (You’d be surprised how often the materials for these crafts cross boundaries.)

The downside to this personality trait is that I go through extended periods of not wanting to do any of them, which is accompanied by a weighty feeling of dissatisfaction because I have all these things, and I’m good at them, and I don’t want any of them but I don’t know what I want. I just know that I don’t want to do the things I’ve done before and I don’t want to seek out something new.

It’s a whirlpool of irritation. I don’t like these feelings. I don’t like being unhappy and I don’t understand why it happens.

Maybe it’s a control thing. I don’t know.

Right now, I have some knitting and crochet need to finish and I don’t even want to look at my yarn; my electric spinner is finished and I’d rather use my handmade (chopstick and bathroom sink stopper) handspindle; I want to colour but there are too many lines on the page to make sense them.

I’m planning to go into town tomorrow (for heavier printer paper), maybe that will help get this under control a little. Sometimes it’s just restlessness.

I don’t really know where I was going with this. Sorry.

2 thoughts on “All The Things!!! or I am a Collector of Crafts.

  1. Don’t we all continually flip between projects. I have at least 3 crochet projects , a couple of colouring books ( oh & I signed up for the weekly art therapy mag, it came with pens & pencils how could I resist) , 2 cross stitch projects, a couple of quilting projects , my 3 alternative therapy courses & of course my school work ( new exams to prep for this year). I do not understand how people can stick to one thing. I forgot the beading & garden! My fellow teachers are convinced I have ADHD controlled by crafting! Good luck my mum is also a project flipper it’s considered ‘ normal’ here!!

    • I don’t consider it flipping so much as having projects of differing levels of complexity that I can’t always concentrate on. I have a lace shawl that’s been waiting to be finished for 5 years but it’s so involved and I just can’t make sense of it. And why do they want to label it? I have to follow the muse…

Leave a Reply

