Designing woman

Standard

I love designing my own dolls, even when it’s just deciding what clothes to put on it but as you saw in my last post, my humanoid dolls are mostly the same.

A friend posted a pic of an aviator doll she was looking at for her daughter and I was intrigued by it. It’s a long and thin limbed doll and quite different to my previous designs so I volunteered to give it a go. I think I’ve got a rough guide to sizing from photos and while I am aiming to make something similar, it will not be the same.

Also, I don’t have the thin crochet thread this designer uses so I’m using a modified DK yarn – modified in that I’ve removed 1 of the 3 strands to make it thinner. I will look for a better option once I’ve got a pattern mocked up and to do that, I need to make it. I can write out what I think will work because I’ve had a lot of practice but to line the hips and shoulders up I need to make it. It’s also a way to make sure that what I’m envisioning is actually possible – sometimes the yarn just doesn’t want to cooperate. Sometimes my hands don’t.

I’m excited to be getting back into designing and maybe if I work this out, I will finally finish the pirate dolls I’ve had half done for 3+ years now.

No photos yet. I’ve only just finished basic body sketches and a rough plan for the pattern.

Don’t forget though, that my existing patterns are currently on sale on Ravelry.

Also, thank you again to all who’ve donated to Macmillan. The website is still taking donations even though I’ve already shaved my noggin. We only need £5 more to take the total to £500!!! I am so delighted!

I hope to have some doll pictures for tomorrow. I work quite quickly with these dolls – I can get a girl with big hair and a dress done in a day – so there ought to be something to show soon.

Leave a Reply

