Day 189

Standard

I’m feeling really tired this evening. I’ve been struggling with pain for the last couple of days. The doctors did warn me that even though the pancreatitis is resolved, I may never be completely rid of the pain. It’s still not serious but it is uncomfortable and sits at the same place on my torso as my bra so you can imagine how a restrictive elastic band exacerbates the situation.

Still, it’s so much better than when I was in the hospital. I was on regular, strong pain medication and not having access to it via IV was one of my most worrying thoughts after I left the hospital. I have been very blessed to not need it and to have paracetamol and buscopan be all I need when pain does flare up.

I got a few more rows of my husbands very belated Dr Who scarf. It was meant to be for Christmas 2 years ago. I have only a quarter of it to go and yes it is like the multi coloured one that Tom Baker wore and is now an iconic part of Who lore. His birthday is in a couple of weeks and I really want to get it finished for him. I know I can get the knitting done but I’m not sure about getting all of the finishing done. There are a lot of ends to sew in because I love knitting but kinda hate sewing in ends. This is not a problem I alone experience.

Lots of knitters have a stack of WiP’s (works in progress) and UFO’s (unfinished objects), and most of those are only unfinished because they need assembling. Finishing a project and making it look good takes concentration that many of us can infrequently force ourselves to gather. Personally, I need to stick to my resolution to finish 2 items completely before starting something new. It’s easier to do when I don’t spend time on Ravelry where there are 10’s of new patterns daily.

And of course the meditation blanket cures me of some of that Startitis because it lets me start a new item each day. And today’s cure is mostly in pink and purple.

Day 189

 

Judy Garland was lost to the world in 1969, due in large part to mental ill-health. Much like Robin Williams though, she is not remembered for that but for being an incredible talent. Did you know that they wanted Shirley Temple for the role of Dorothy? You can’t imagine it, can you?

Here Judy is in 1950 from the movie ‘Summer Stock’ which also starred Gene Kelly.

Leave a comment